Did you miss your activation email?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Links to convart.com  (Read 1323 times)
clawster
Staff Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 306



View Profile WWW
« on: April 12, 2010, 05:08:17 PM »

Hey Anthony,

There's been some talk on the shoutbox today:

hippy :
Quote
Chrome spazzing out on ecogamer: Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer! The website at www.ecogamer.com contains elements from the site convart.com, which appears to host malware ? software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer. For detailed information about the problems with these elements, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for convart.com. Learn more about how to pr

hippy :
Quote
So erm whats going on with this?
JustMan75 :
Quote
Yes, just noticed it too. Not sure where ecogamer is calling convart.com from, but this is what google has to say about it: ?link?  Because I laugh in the face of danger, and so opened ecogamer in Firefox, which had no qualms about it.

?link? is this - http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=convart.com

Do we have a dodgy advertiser or something?
Logged
anonoz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2010, 05:20:37 PM »

I'm also getting this junk too.
Logged
Anthony
Administrator
Life Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1336



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2010, 05:37:54 PM »

I logged on tonight and get virus reports on Avira. Ill have to look into it (there goes all my plans for this evening)
Logged
Im Cheap
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2010, 06:31:34 PM »

mine says its linked to  baidustatz.com
Logged
HessianSack
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2010, 07:05:29 PM »

Safari is telling me baidustatz.com too
Logged
Anthony
Administrator
Life Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1336



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2010, 08:01:14 AM »

Well as you can see I got it sorted out. After work today Ill put together an explaination of what happened, hopefully bring back confidence after some people would have seen that big warning when opening the site.
Logged
Chopbuster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2010, 02:15:16 PM »

When I visited this site yesterday it downloaded 2 exe files to my temp Internet files and to my desktop which continually tried to run. Symantec Endpoint Protection identified the threat as packed.mystic!gen3.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: